PUNCTUATION

I was digging through some old emails the other day and discovered this precious snippet illustrating the importance of punctuation. I would love to give credit to the original source but unfortunately that genius is unknown to me. I adapted it somewhat, and so here it goes…

A grammar teacher handed a piece of unpunctuated text to her grammar students, told them that it was a letter, and instructed them to punctuate it correctly. Two completely different versions emerged as winners in that exercise.

VERSION 1:

Dear John,
I want a man who knows what love is all about. You are generous, kind, thoughtful. People who are not like you admit to being useless and inferior. You have ruined me for other men. I yearn for you. I have no feelings whatsoever when we’re apart. I can be forever happy—will you let me be yours?
Gloria

VERSION 2:

Dear John,
I want a man who knows what love is. All about you are generous, kind, thoughtful people, who are not like you. Admit to being useless and inferior. You have ruined me. For other men, I yearn. For you, I have no feelings whatsoever. When we’re apart, I can be forever happy. Will you let me be?
Yours,
Gloria

AND THE MORAL OF THE STORY?

Incorrect punctuation can get you into deep, deep doo-doo!

___________________________________________________________

If you enjoyed this article, please feel free to pass it along to your friends.

All that I ask is that you include the copyright and URL of my website.

© Emil Kirstein

(Author of Quest for Freedom)

http://kirsteinonline.com

